Reviews

Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)
Home \ Reviews \ Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)
Sandy
Cary, NC, United States


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

My friend and I had a super tour with Anton. He met us on time and was very quick to respond to communication. His car was clean and comfortable and is English is excellent. Anton is friendly and very knowledgeable. We had some unique experiences; going to Alexey’s home and hearing about his life and painting the matryoshka dolls, ate some delicious treats, and had some interesting discussions in the car. I can definitely recommend Anton’s tour for a full day away from the city. I’m sure that any of the tours the Anton does will be lots of fun and top quality!

Date of tour: January 2020
Margaret
Raleigh, NC, United States


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

I can’t say enough about this outing with Anton. Everything was outstanding and beyond my expectations. His knowledge and style would make him a fabulous guide on any trip he offers!

Date of tour: January 2020
Eva.
Zagreb, Croatia


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

Wonderful excursion that showed us authentic Russia that can be experienced fully only outside of big cities. We were visiting beautiful churches and monasteries, peasants houses from past and present, museum of peasant living… and each of these places had its stories that our guide was sharing with us, explaining its importance in Russian spirit and culture. The best part was experiencing it ourselves – tasting baked goods from monastery bakery, touching old wooden peasant homes, walking in the yard and garden of a village house, seeing the celebration of a big religious holiday at one of the most important monasteries in the country and as the last thing doing my own matryoshka doll, that I kept as the nicest souvenir from this trip.

Date of tour: July 2019
Yevgeniya
Ottawa, Canada


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

We took this tour as a family of 4. We all had a really nice and fun day. After a few busy days in Moscow, we found the day trip to be relaxing and easy pasted, which was perfect for us. Anton planned the day well – we left earlier to avoid the traffic. We saw beautiful historic churches and monasteries, had some traditional snacks and drunk kvas, painted matryoshka dolls, and learned a lot about Russian culture. None of this could have been possible without Anton, who was a cool, open and friendly guide.

Date of tour: June 2019
Sasan
Palo Alto, CA, United States


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

Anton built a custom schedule for me which involved some unique places such as a school children memorial site visit, Russian poet residence, followed by local pastry, and lunch in Sergiyev Posad, Russian doll painting and finishing up with visits to several churches and monasteries. I had a great day!

Date of tour: September 2018
Erwin
Eastern Creek, Australia


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

This is the second tour with Anton. Both tours were excellent. We saw many things & would highly recommend.

Date of tour: June 2018
Fred
United States


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

Anton was friendly, knowledgeable, flexible, and he spoke very good English. We took a day trip to the Trinity Lavra of St Sergius. During the time in the car we learned about the history of Russia since 1990 and what is was like to live in a communist society. At the monastery we learned a great deal about the importance of the Eastern Orthodox religion to the Russian people. The monastery is a must see if you are visiting Moscow, and Anton is the guy to take you there.

Date of tour: May 2018
Wim & Vanessa
Ostend, Belgium


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

We booked ourselves the trip to Sergiev Posad (one of the Golden Ring cities) with Anton. In the morning we were met by Anton at our hotel on time. Another fellow traveller joined us on this tour. The whole trip was kept nicely on schedule: first stop was the monastry Gethsemane Chernigovsky Skete. There we were treated on a interesting behind the scenes tour. Not accessible for public. A local priest provided background info, translated by Anton. There we were offered a tea or coffee with a typical local pastry. At midday, there was plenty of time to have lunch in a very nice restaurant, serving typical russian food, which was very good. Next stop was Troitse-Sergieva Lavra. The time planning seemed usefull as it was not so crowded then, because the first large groups of visitors already finished their visit. Afterwards there was a workshop planned: choice of handpainting Matroushkas or little sculptures, which was as well a fun experience. The advantage of such a private tour, is that you can ask to stop somewhere, f.i. to buy some forest fruits from local people in the street, which was no problem at all for Anton. The whole trip, everything went smoothly and we had no loss of time because of queing for entry tickets or so. Anton is the excellent guide: knowledgeable, friendly and helpfull. We also got some good tips what to visit in the remaining days of our stay in Moscow. We had a nice day out, and would like to thank Anton for his friendly companionship during the confortable trip.

Date of tour: August 2017
Alexandria
Racine, WI, United States


Golden Ring and Trinity Lavra (Day Trip from Moscow)

A tour deserving more than a 2-year awaited review.
I came to Moscow in May of 2017, and it was my last stop from four months of travel. I was not in the least disappointed and I know you won’t be either. Hence my dedication to review.
This was not the first tour I have taken, although the first in Russia. I’ve taken tours on buses, through museums, around city monuments, along rivers, and after a while- I don’t like to admit- they blur together. I am grateful for these past experiences, but I couldn’t help but feel I was playing “follow the leader”- the indistinct hustle of facts through headsets, the flying of triangular flags above group huddles. Despite previous experiences, I forewent my expectations and gave this 9-Hour Golden Ring Tour a go.
It was unforgettable, as the passing of two years have proved.
If you are into history and consider yourself a buff, Anton will supply you with dates, names, and monumental moments in the Soviet era. He’ll enlighten you with his knowledge and personalize your interests along the Golden Ring’s route. If important dates/names of history have a hard time sticking, like they do for me, I urge you to take this tour anyhow. I went for an experience and got the best of both worlds.
What I valued most, and the memories that continue to resurface- the ones that urge for a review that’s never too late to write- are of the times spent with Anton. I felt as a friend, sipping hot tea from a thermos along a stream, Anton conversing of architecture. We were a walking time capsule. We ate pastries of all varieties, painted iconic matryoshka dolls. Later, we relished in vintage toys and vinyl records at the Russian Village House, the owner reminding me of my own grandfather- jovial and delighted to impress our visit.
Among the tours that are fighting to rank in the tops of lists and first in searches, I hope you pick this one. It is regrettable I’ve waited so long to review, but I hope this length of time can prove this tour is indeed, a memorable one. Even if the stops have changed, I trust Anton’s enthusiasm to be long-lasting and shared among the making of friends to come.
So if you’re wondering, then yes, every cent and ruble was worth it.

Date of tour: May 2017

You can leave your feedback about the tour you visited here